Spring 2021 Alpha Sigma Lambda Inductions

Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society congratulates our new inductees on their academic accomplishments. Thank you to all of our chapter councilors for helping us honor these amazing students, their hard work and achievements during these turbulent times.

“Just as despair can come to one only from other human beings, hope, too, can be given to one only by other human beings.”

Elie Weisel

Eta Chi

On the evening of May 14, 2021 the Eta Chi Chapter inducted its newest members into the Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society. Some public health protocols required by the outbreak of Covid-19 were still in effect and once again did not stop our celebration and acknowledgment of our adult students’ accomplishments. We were able to hold the celebration in-person at our beautiful historic Hoffman House. Chapter Councilor, Jane Hudak, opened this joyous occasion with the support of honorary ASL members, Associate Dean Gregg Scully and Director of Admissions and Student Success, Lisa Lewis, along with Associate Dean, Michael Miller. A.J. Lemheney, Ed.D., Vice President and Executive Director of the College of Graduate and Continuing Education (GCE), addressed the group and shared the sometimes overwhelming obstacles adult learners must overcome in their quest for furthering their education and potential. The 2021 honorary inductee, Amy Enders, Adjunct Business Administration Professor for GCE, was acknowledged for her contribution to her many students. This is best illustrated in a quote submitted by one of them for her nomination. “Amy helped me see the potential in new career possibilities. She guided me and made career suggestions that I would have never considered prior. I’m thankful for her style of teaching, feedback, and help to see a road full of new possibilities”. It’s with great pride that we welcome our seven new members and wish them all the best in their exciting futures.

Student Inductees:

April Bastian, Robert Lessard, Jesenia Peralta, Deanna Shisslak, Rachelle St. Pierre, Christina Tomsic, Arika Troxell, Victoria Yamrus

Zeta Omega Phi

Zeta Omega Phi’s 2021 Induction Ceremony was held via Zoom. We inducted one of our largest cohorts to date!

Student Inductees:

Camille Allen, Katia Bitar, Nadia Bryant, Thomas Deneau, Ramsey Fakhouri, Indiana Gooba, Ali Haidar, Cristal Harris, Jeannine Hart, Dawn Isby, Penny Kane, Shalom Kebede, Anna Koskiewicz-Hamlin, Daisy Recinos, Shameca Rochon, Nathan Roulo, Yosra Saleh, LaKisha Vaughn

Upsilon Zeta

The University of South Carolina’s Upsilon Zeta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda held its induction ceremony virtually on April 20, 2021. Chapter Councilor and Dean of USC Palmetto College Columbia, Dr. Ron Cox, welcomed the honorees and led the ritual of induction. The ceremony included greetings to all inductees from UofSC President Robert L. Caslen, Jr., who was also inducted as an honorary member in recognition of his commitment to adult learners, and was concluded by Dr. Susan Elkins, USC Palmetto College Chancellor, who recognized the academic achievement and accomplishments of all newly-inducted members.

Student Inductees:

Chris Archibald, Jessica Baumeister, Kaegan Chavis, Sally Dillon, Sarah Duckworth, Cheryl Felder-Washington, Chelsea Kuehler, Missy Melton, Wende Miller, Haley Montgomery, Patience Nkyesiga, Mary Taylor, Marlena White, Sandra Williams, Lindsay Young, Bridget Blackwell, Ricky Boyd, Bob Caslen, Danelle Faulkenberry, Jessica Goodwin, Steven Lownes

Honorary Inductees:

Bridget Blackwell, Ricky Boyd, Bob Caslen, Danelle Faulkenberry, Jessica Goodwin, and Steven Lownes


Kappa Eta

Student Inductees:

April Alynn Brown, Laura Arlene Price, Christopher Lee Fulton, Megan Marie Ide-Sandefur, Sharyn T. Toso

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.